Current Board of Directors

Board of Directors

The family corporation’s extended family includes a working board of directors. Non-family board members are or have been managers at one or more of the sites. Each board member is assigned responsibility for shepherding two or more site managers, developing monthly written reports for the full board. These communication and business links have proved invaluable as an efficient way to monitor activities—a corporate “umbrella” that is vigilant, but not obtrusive.

Many board members also serve on a committee that monitors company-wide activities such as finance, programs, new products and promotions, the 401(k) plan and advertising.

In 2006 when ENI received an Austin Family Business Award of Excellence, the judges wrote they “were impressed with the decentralized nature of the company, the independence given to and faith in site managers, and a working board that works.”

The 2013-2014 Board of Directors:

Denny Smith Chairman of the board

Joe Petshow president and publisher, Hood River News

Mike Connor executive vice-president and general manager, Eagle Web Press

David Arndt technology director, manager, Eagle Publishing Technology

Andy McNab publisher, Idaho County Free Press

Marilyn Roth publisher, The Dalles Chronicle

Tom Lanctot past president/retired

James O Smith past president/retired

Maggie Smith Hemmer